SpursNetwork

Football Director At THFC

Offline Metalanimal

• Hero: Pat Jennings
  • Season Ticket: No
Football Director At THFC
« on: January 23, 2014, 07:53:01 PM »
I have never been a great fan of this role and I was skeptical when Levy opted to try again with Baldini.

As links were already in place with AVB surely a repeat of the Comelli saga would not be repeated?

What exactly is the FD supposed to do as seems at THFC they come in go for players they want, get Levys trusted ear, piss of the manager and cause all sorts of shyte.

I am a firm believer the manager should indentify who we buy and sell, end off, how can a manage develop players he doesn't want in and be then held accountable for failure.

This is not a defense of AVB as his lack of vision and willingness to Dare was his downfall but I feel TS isnt a manger to put up with that kind of game and it will be interesting to see what develops.  If TS does well we could see Baldini gone in teh summer!
THFC "COYS" and that is all I have to say about that!

Offline RiffHard

• Hero: Gary Lineker, Teddy Sheringham, Mart Poom
Re: Football Director At THFC
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 07:58:52 PM »
...but I feel TS isnt a manger to put up with that kind of game and it will be interesting to see what develops.
Tim Sherwood is a head coach, not a manager. I think it probably means that some of the tasks that are usually manager's, have been assigned to director of football. Director of football probably handles the transfers (whether he finds the targets or the head coach, we can only imagine) and contract negotiations.

Offline Glenn R

• Hero: Glenn Hoddle, Greaves, Bill Nicholson etc
  • Season Ticket: Yes
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 08:17:46 PM »
The European style/ director of football is the way English football is going.
I’ve lived a life that’s full. I’ve travelled each and every highway;
And more, much more than this,
I did it my way.

Regrets, I’ve had a few;